Live Chat Software by Kayako |
|
May 11 |
The Amnesty International UK website was compromised to serve Gh0st RAT [Update]
Posted by Gianluca Giuliani on 11 May 2012 05:59 AM
|
|
Between May 8 and 9, 2012, the Websense® ThreatSeeker® Network detected that the Amnesty International United Kingdom website was compromised. The website was apparently injected with malicious code for these 2 days. During that time, website users risked having sensitive data stolen and perhaps infecting other users in their network. However, the website owners rectified this issue after we advised them about the injection. In early 2009, we discovered this same site was compromised, and in 2010, we reported another injection of an Amnesty International website, this time the Hong Kong site.
In the most recent case, we noticed that the exploit vector used was the same Java exploit (detailed in CVE-2012-0507) that has been used worldwide, and which has become somewhat infamous as the cause of the recent massive Mac OS X infection with Flashback.
Websense customers are protected from these threats by ACE, our Advanced Classification Engine.
The following is a screen shot of the detected code injection:
(click on the picture to enlarge)
In the screen shot, we can see the similarities between this injection and the INSS injection we reported last week. This clearly shows the use of the Metasploit framework and the precise name of the Java class used. In addition, the associated JAR file is a well-known vector exploit for the CVE-2012-0507, as shown below:
(click on the picture to enlarge)
Once the exploit is successful, a file download is initiated for an executable from this URL: "hxxxp://www.48groupclub.org/images/uploads/image/sethc.exe" - MD5 : 3EC4DE9EF2E158473208842F4631236A
Further analysis shows that when the "sethc.exe" file is executed on the compromised system, it creates a new binary file in the Windows system directory: C:\Program Files\......
The ruse appears credible because the executable file has been signed by a "valid" certificate authority (CA), as shown below:
Through further research we learn that this certificate has been in use for a while and does not appear to have been revoked at the time of this latest exploit activity.
Analyzing this low AV detected binary file, we recognize that this is a variant of the well-known Remote Administration Tool Gh0st RAT, which is used mainly in targeted attacks to gain complete control of infected systems. With this control, the remote administrator has access to a user's files, email, passwords, and other sensitive personal information. Following is the initial network capture with Wireshark between a compromised system and the remote administration center, which reveals the header information of the traffic (pay particular attention to the starting keyword "gh0st"), confirming the use of Gh0st RAT:
(clieck on the picture to enlarge)
The Remote Administration Center commands to the compromised system originate from this address: shell.xhhow4.com. At the time of this writing, the address is still active.
[Update]
Websense® ThreatSeeker® Network detected that the Amnesty International Hong Kong sister website was also compromised to serve Gh0st RAT over the weekend, and the malicious codes are still live and active. Below are some of the pages infected redirecting to the exploits. Websense Security Labs will continue to monitor and update any new changes to this attack.
Read more » | |
|
May 11 |
Canada’s Cybercrime Report Card: Better or Worse in 2012?
Posted by Patrik Runald on 11 May 2012 02:09 AM
|
|
Last May 2011, we conducted an analysis of Canada’s cyber security risk profile, which led to the discovery of a disturbing trend. Canada had become the newest breeding ground of cybercriminal activity.
Read more » | |
|
May 5 |
Pinning Down Pinterest
Posted by RM on 05 May 2012 12:38 AM
|
|
There has been a lot of talk lately about Pinterest, the "virtual pinboard" that allows you to "organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web." It is precisely the social media elements that seem to be fueling Pinterest’s popularity. Users can search pins, boards, or people. They can “like” other people’s pins, post comments, repin the images to their own boards, and even share them via Facebook and Twitter links, or via embedding in a blog or email. They can follow other users, see activity streams, and click through to the source of an image for more information, or to make a purchase. Collaboration with Flickr was just announced, which enables sharing in the user's Flickr account. This explosion has created a huge buzz around the site, and at Websense we’ve learned that sites which attract lots of users also tend to attract lots of security concerns.
Another tool finds the most popular pins and re-submits them into the same board name and category on the spammer's account.
Websense researchers found many similar tools for sale, all of which generate unnatural traffic to the spammer's account in order to increase the popularity of a site or brand. Of course, Pinterest may notice or be informed of the unusual traffic and block the account. A bigger risk is that spamming tools may actually contain viruses, malware, or other threats, making the would-be hacker into a hacking target.
* Because pinning something actually creates a copy (as opposed to simply “liking” a pin), there has been a great deal of controversy and confusion around Pinterest and copyright. The personal blog of a copyright librarian provides some useful discussion. Read more » | |
|
May 3 |
Widespread malware abuses unsecured Geolocation Service of Adult Website
Posted by Armin Buescher on 03 May 2012 11:56 PM
|
|
While researching outbound malware communications to improve detections for our products, we recently made an interesting discovery. Thousands of samples running in our malware lab reached out to the URL promos.fling.com/geo/txt/city.php. At first we suspected this to be a command and control (C&C) server of botnet malware. However, Websense® categorization of the main Web page of the domain fling.com returned Adult, and visiting the page certainly confirmed this:
The self-proclaimed "Hottest Place to Hook Up" suggested that we sign up to "Meet the Hottest Members in San Diego" (the location of the US Websense® Security Labs™). This is where the originally discovered URL promos.fling.com/geo/txt/city.php comes into play. Directly visiting the URL results in JavaScript code to print the geolocation of the visitor:
So how is this unsecured geolocation service used by the malware? Using the network tool Wireshark to look at the malware network traffic contacting this service, we can see that more information is disclosed:
In this example our malware sandbox was connected to the Internet through a proxy service in Canada. Apart from the JavaScript payload there are several HTTP cookies sent in the response header specifying the country, state, city, latitude and longitude. Our analysis systems identified other likely C&C connections in the outbound connections of the malware samples in question. Interestingly, these connections try to hide the malicious HTTP using a forged user-agent string:
Looking at the geolocation service abused by the malware we can make the connection that the 'CA' part (country code for Canada) in this user-agent is used to disclose the geolocation of the infected machine to the botnet server. This information can be used by the botmaster for statistics or to give different commands to infected machines in certain countries.
As of the time of writing this blog post, a total of 4,775 samples that ran in our malware lab show connections to the adult geolocation service in question. Websense customers are protected against known variants of this malware; we also have real-time coverage in place for the traffic between the malware and the C&C servers. Read more » | |
|
May 2 |
The Institute for National Security Studies (Israel) falls prey to Poison Ivy infection
Posted by Gianluca Giuliani on 02 May 2012 05:36 AM
|
|
The Websense® ThreatSeeker® Network has detected that the Institute for National Security Studies (INSS) website in Israel was injected with malicious code. INSS is described in its website as an independent academic institute that studies key issues relating to Israel's national security and Middle East affairs.
While we can't determine that the infection of this website with exploit code is part of a targeted attack, one could deduce that visitors to this type of site are likely to have an interest in national security or are occupied in this field. The website appears to be injected with malicious code for over a week now. (Websense' ACE provided protection against the type of injected malicious code since early 2009)
One of the interesting facts about this infection is that it uses the same Java exploit vector (CVE-2012-0507) that managed to infect around 600,000 Mac users in a massive scatter attack dubbed Flashback a few weeks ago. ...(read more) Read more » | |












